Many Top Pharma-Backed Incumbents In Competitive Races Lose

November 08, 2018
Many incumbents whose campaigns received significant brand-drug industry funding lost their races on Nov. 6. A couple of candidates who bucked the drug industry won, but advocates for lower drug prices lost a key ally in Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-MO). Among the top 20 recipients of pharma money this election cycle, eight incumbents were considered to be in competitive races. Seven of those incumbents lost: Sens. Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Joe Donnelly (D-IN), Dean Heller (R-NV) and McCaskill and Reps...

Not a subscriber? Sign up for 30 days free access to exclusive, detailed reporting on the coming Democrat-controlled House of Representatives, drug pricing reforms, Medicaid policy, FDA news and much more.